Ceilidh Reviews Archives

Aswanley wedding 26th april 2014
Aswanley wedding 26th April 2014
Ardoe wedding 18th oct 2014
Lucy & Alastair. Ardoe wedding 18th October 2014
Gary and Emily, Haddo House 2014
Gary and Emily, Haddo House 2014
8th June 2013 wedding ceilidh review
8th June 2013 wedding ceilidh review

Our Ceilidh Band Hire feedback

2012 Ceilidh Reviews Archive

19 Dec 2012
    We had a brilliant night at Castle Fraser with the band. Fantastic music that had everyone on their feet. They assisted those who could dance and those who couldn’t!
A great night. Highly recommended.
Nancy Murray – Aberdeen

9 Dec 2012
    Iron Broo played at our wedding on Friday 7th. December. The guys certainly knew what we wanted. The dance floor was never empty. 
We cannot recommend them highly enough and will be passing their name around family and friends.
Allan Scott 
Alford


8 Dec 2012
    We asked Iron Broo if they would play at our wedding at Maryculter House Hotel after reading many positive reviews online. Communication prior to the event was very professional allowing us to create a very personalised gig with very little effort. 
The ceilidh itself was far better than we could have hoped for. The musicianship was first class and really got the whole party on the dancefloor. The closing dance in particular was breathtaking combining traditional and non traditional elements. Iron Broo are the best ceilidh band I have heard and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending them.
Kenneth Muir 
Aberdeen


29 Nov 2012
    The Iron Broo duo played at my daughter’s wedding reception at Castle Fraser. Many of the guests were from England and had never done any Scottish dancing let alone attended a Ceilidh before. Charlie soon had even the most hardened non-dancers up and swirling and anyone who, for whatever reason, was not involved in a particular dance had a great time watching those who were.
Vicki Graham 
Inverurie


19 Nov 2012
    Iron Broo could not have made our wedding reception any better. They were so professional and provided an afternoon set up with no fuss as we were having our meal in the same room at 5pm. We booked the 4 piece ceilidh band with disco and the floor was full all night long. What made it even better (particularly for our American guests) was the calling of the dances. Everyone was able to fully take part in the festivities. What a bunch of fabulous musicians! And this comes from someone who used to be in a ceilidh band! All of our guests have since been commenting on how fantastic they were and some are now hoping to book the band for their upcoming nuptials. I had a chat with the lads a couple of times through the evening and they were so lovely. They asked how we wanted things to go and what sort of disco music we wanted. They did not disappoint!! We originally only booked the disco to please a few family members as it is not usually our thing, however, the music selection was that good, we bopped the night away! 
Thank you so so much boys for everything – we want to do it all over again!
Kirsten Macleod 
Forres


16 Oct 2012
    I hired Charlie and the Bazouki player for a surprise birthday party for my husband Will’s 60th, daughter Siobhan’s 21st (joint event). They were just brilliant value. Wonderful musicians, they played all requests and had a great variety of dances to offer which they explained well. The finale was the best ever Strip the Willow I have ever done, going fast, then slow, the band’s singing in Italian was perfect according to one guest from Rome.
     Loved them and they made the evening! 
Fiona Maclean.
Banchory


6 Oct 2012
    We booked Iron Broo duo for our wedding recently. Charlie explained the options very clearly and we went with his recommendations for the evening by booking the duo and disco option. 
The evening was a great success and by common consensus the band were excellent both in their performance and in the way that they led us (by no means experts) through all the dances. 
They also were able to play all the songs we asked for when the disco was playing. 
Wouldn’t hesitate to book again. 
Rich.
Richard Newton 
Wandsworth


24 Sep 2012
Iron Broo played at our wedding and they were absolutely brilliant. The dancefloor was always full with our guests and everyone had such a good time. Thanks to Charlie and the rest of the guys for making our wedding reception a brilliant night.
Ruth Schofield
Dunfermline


24 Sep 2012
    Iron Broo played for our afternoon wedding celebration. The standard of playing was very skilful and they were flexible and played many different requests with ease. Our guests were encouraged to dance – dances explained as required very clearly. Several of our guests purchased the CD afterwards. The band were prompt and efficient in setup and set down. Overall excellent and friendly service.
Vanda Noble 
Portlethen


17 Sep 2012
    Iron Broo ‘two-piece’ provided for a brilliant nights entertainment at our recent wedding. The band created a real party atmosphere and worked the dance-floor brilliantly. Charlies musical ability and enthusiasm was superb. If you enjoy ceilidh look nowhere else; however also brilliant fun for beginners! Can also recommend the DJ services if you want to throw in a few disco tunes. You will not be disappointed if booking for your wedding/party. 
Ross and Harini.
Ross & Harini – Aberdeen


26 Aug 2012
The band were very good and worked hard initially to get the crowd up on their feet and dancing. 
Everyone really enjoyed the evening, with all ages getting up and dancing. I would fully recommend them to others.
Jim Smith 
Keith


25 Aug 2012
    There’s simply nothing bad to write about Iron Broo – they were fantastic musicians, fantastic at calling the dances and making all those unsure of themselves ready and prepared and quite simply all round brilliant. Rock on, Iron Broo. Great name too! The mere fact that the Bride’s father approved very strongly of the band shows an awful lot in a family who consider themselves connoisseurs in ceilidh bands! Thank you so much for creating the perfect night for all of us.
Derek Scott 
Aberdeen


16 Aug 2012
    We would absolutely recommend Iron Broo as a wedding band. They played a fantastic ceilidh set, which had every wedding guest on the dance floor, and were kind enough to play an after hours party too! Charlie was so kind and generous in helping us make our wedding come together, including turning up early with a PA system for our wedding speeches. Our guests are still talking about how brilliant the band was. 
Thanks Iron Broo! 
Laura and James Taylor, Loch Lomond Youth Hostel.
Milngavie


16 Aug 2012
    The music was fantastic with everyone dancing all evening. It was the icing on the cake for a wonderful wedding! So many thanks to all the band.
Aileen Taylor 
Newcastle


13 Aug 2012
    Hi, I would just like to pass on how excellent Charlie Abel was at our recent wedding evening reception. He really made our party absolutely fantastic! Not only is he a fantastic accordion player who displays a real passion for his music when playing, he is a nice guy also! everybody liked the fact that he explained all the Scottish dances clearly and simply, he was an excellent compare throughout our night. We went for a ceilidh/disco which really worked as our guests were aged 18 months to 95!!! The music very much catered for everyone and that is not easy to do. Every one who attended our do have told us how much they enjoyed the music which is essential to having a good party! I cannot thank Charlie enough and will book him again for future parties, worth every penny!
Euan and Kay Milne.
Arbroath


5 Aug 2012
    Charlie delivered a hassle free, professional and top quality one-man ceilidh performance for our wedding. 
He explained the dances clearly and in a lighthearted way that was perfect for both experienced and novice ceilidh dancers. Id thoroughly recommend booking him for an event / wedding. 
Thank you for a great performance. 
Gordon and Kat Logan.
Walthamstow


31 Jul 2012
    These lads are amazing! Charlie was really helpful and prompt in answering our queries in the run up to the wedding. The band was great at getting everyone on the dance floor and the atmosphere was incredible. Thanks so much, can’t recommend this band enough!
Natali Gunawardena 
Elgin


13 Jul 2012
    Very professional and dependable band who are able to wow the crowd. 
Everybody absolutely enjoyed themselves during our wedding ceilidh! Even though it was only a 2-piece band, the band was engaging and gave us a fresh take on ceilidh. 
Highly recommended!
Teng Cheng Khoo 
Glasgow


9 Jul 2012
    Charlie is a very accomplished musician whose short performance alongside our ‘wedding band’ lit the evening up, especially for the many people present from other nationalities. His multi-cultural Orcadian Strip The Willow was probably the highlight of the evening, leaving guests completely exhausted but with smiles on their faces!
Duncan Simpson 
Glenrothes


7 Jul 2012
    Hello Charlie. 
Now that we are home from a well earned break from wedding planning I have finally got time to write to thank you for providing the music at Julie and Iain’s wedding on 9th June. 
The two of you are totally amazing musicians and you really made the atmosphere in the evening despite our crowd being somewhat reluctant to take to the dance floor at times. 
You worked so hard at encouraging people and your instructions made it easy for everyone. 
Lots of people have told us how much they enjoyed the music. I remember the experience of listening to your extraordinary playing of the “strip the willow” dance as being equal to the experience of being at any “famous “bands concert. I remember feeling that I didn’t want the music to end. 
Thank you so much for being an enormous part of making our daughter’s wedding day truly perfect. 
We would obviously reccommend you to anyone else who might be considering booking you. 
Best regards. 
Caroline and Norrie Turnbull.


6 Jul 2012
    Iron Broo played for our school summer ball at the Aberdeen Marriott. The three piece band were great, playing a great mixture of familiar and less well known dances. The dance floor was full most of the evening. The Orcadian Strip the Willow was the best I’ve ever taken part in. Would definitely use again.
Susan Prentice 
Aberdeen


29 Jun 2012
    If you are looking for a Ceilidh band, look no further than Iron Broo! They played at our wedding and were absolutely fantastic. Many people at the wedding had never experienced a ceilidh before, not only was their performance brilliant but they also ensured everyone knew the steps and had a great time. I cannot speak highly enough of their performance, you are guaranteed a superb evening.
Andrew McKean 
Horsham


27 Jun 2012
    Iron Broo played at our wedding at Drumtochty castle, and provided a DJ service too. Everyone had a great time. Charlie was very friendly and flexible and accomodated all our requests before and on the day. During the DJ set he played everything we requested. We really couldnt have asked for anything more from them. I would strongly recommend Iron Broo for your ceilidh.
Mike Edwards 
Aberdeen


29 May 2012
    Iron Broo played at our wedding in Ballachulish. The band were just amazing and everyone had a fantastic time. Everyone kept saying how good they were at breakfast the next morning and how much they enjoyed dancing to the music – especially the last epic dance! The band have a really full sound and are all excellent musicians. The highland setting and fabulous ceilidh made for the perfect wedding – highly recommended!

Alison McLeman.
Bathgate.
Alison McLeman – Bathgate


28 May 2012
Iron Broo helped to make our evening a success. The band were excellent at assessing what we required on the evening and ensuring everyone had a great time. Charlie and the band are very friendly and customer focused and we will definitely book them again for our next ceilidh.
Tom Clarke 
Grantown-on-spey


29 Apr 2012
We had a great ceilidh at our wedding thanks to Iron Broo! Each of the band members were individually very good musicians, and together formed a really tight band. 
Iron Broo offer more than just the usual ceilidh dances, with a few I’ve never done before, and adding unique musical styles to the likes of the Orcadian Strip the Willow. 
A really great band, highly recommended.
Christopher Arnott 
Glasgow


6 Apr 2012
    Some entertaining tune arrangements and unusual dances as well as the old favourites. We had a cracking evening and Iron Broo worked hard to get people up and dancing.
Rodger family 
Falkirk


5 Apr 2012
    Charlie played at a ceilidh I had to celebrate my 21st, I had an absolutely brilliant night and Charlie’s playing certainly contributed to that. He played a wide variety of tunes including my favourite “the aeroplane dance”. It felt as if there was a full ceilidh band on stage when in fact there was just Charlie. He also called all the dances which was a great help as some of my friends were “ceilidh virgins”. Great value for money and brilliant fun. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Charlie for all your ceilidh needs! :D.
Julie Geyer 
Aberdeen


4 Apr 2012
We booked Iron Broo for our wedding reception in February 2012 and thanks to Charlie and the band, it was a fantastic night of ceilidh dancing that everyone enjoyed. We greatly appreciated the fact that they talked us through the dances, as it helped to get everyone involved. We’ve had lots of family and friends telling us what a great time they had, especially during the longest and most unusual Orcadian strip the willow we’ve ever experienced! Charlie then managed to keep the dancing going with an hour of disco at the end of the night. 
We’d highly recommend Iron Broo for any event, we can’t thank them enough!
Steven Douglas 
Aberdeen


7 Mar 2012
    Iron Broo played at the Granite City Ball on the 3rd of March 2012 for the second year running, an event of 200+ attendees. In all cases the feedback for the band has been highly positive a view that I, as a member of the 2012 organising committee, can strongly back up. The band played all evening talking all dancers through each ceilidh dance first for those unsure. Iron Broo made the traditional Scottish banquet and dance come to life.
Many thanks and with the highest of recommendations we will see you again next year!
Kind Regards
John Millett (Granite City Ball 2012 committee member)

2011 Ceilidh Reviews Archive

*In 2010 we began to use a third party online company in the USA to control our reviews called Ratepoint. Unfortunately, after gathering a lot of really good reviews for us they went bust. Hence there are very few reviews for 2010 and 2011 to display as we lost the ones that Ratepoint had. Very disappointing as some of them were fantastic!
    If you wrote a review and you can’t find it here please do give us one again and I’ll put it up happily.

30/05/2011


Many, many thanks to everyone in the band and all concerned for helping to make my daughter Morven’s wedding at Aswanley on Saturday night such a success. Everyone I’ve spoken to said it was a great day and a grand evening. The organisers of the venue said that this was one of the best weddings that they had put on there. Part of that was due in no small measure to the playing of the band, to the way you involved everyone and got the night going with a swing. From the first dance to the final Orcadian Strip the Willow, it was a big success.

As you will know, this was a big, big day for our family. Iron Broo’s involvement in making it such a success for Morven and Adam has been much appreciated.

John Swan. 


22nd November 2010

Dear Charlie,
    On Behalf of Rushmore Associates, I would like to thank you and the rest of the band for playing at our evening reception at Castle Fraser. Our guests had a great evening and thoroughly enjoyed the ceilidh. It was fantastic seeing everyone join in and having such fun.
We appreciate your help in making our evening the great success that it was.
Best regards,
Helen Rushmore. (Aberdeen)


Charlie,
Just a quick e-mail before Drew and I head off on honeymoon to say thank you so much for yesterday. The band were brilliant and everyone was commenting on how much fun they had, especially the last dance! Brilliant fun and it made our day. 
Thanks! 
Anne (and Drew) 
Edinburgh, 
Married in Dornoch Castle. 
19th June 2010.


Hi Charlie,
Hows it going?
    We just wanted to write to you and say thanks so much for playing at our wedding at the Botanics, you were fantastic and kept the dancing going all night. It was perfect. We had the best day! 

Thanks again Kirsten and Steven,
Edinburgh. 
Wedding reception at Botanic Gardens, Edinburgh. 
5th June 2010


2009 Ceilidh Reviews Archive

Hi Charlie, Jani, Gus and Fred,  
   Just a quick note to say thank you for the “Ceilidh Magic” you added to our wedding day! The music was just great and all of our guests really enjoyed dancing. It was brilliant that you had such a good caller as many of our guests were not familiar with the dances but his instructions were so clear that they could follow easily. The only sad note was that the evening was over so Quickly!
    Thanks again for helping make our wedding day so very special.
    Best wishes for the future,

Catriona and Neil  (wedding Maryculter House, 4th October 2009)
Auckland,
New Zealand


Hi Charlie, 
    I just wanted to email to say thank you for the fantastic job you and the band did at our wedding ceilidh. The music was just superb and the grand march solved all of our first dance problems.  I can’t believe its now over a month since the wedding. 
    Thank you again, the waltz was perfect and people are still talking about the incredible strip the willow! 
Best wishes, 

Janet.
Aberdeen
September 2009


Hi Charlie,
    We Just wanted to say a huge thank you for the best ceilidh ever! It really made the wedding perfect and so many of our non – Scottish friends said they had never experienced anything quite like it. The last Strip the willow was certainly one of the highlights of the whole day for us and we’ll always have very happy memories!

Thanks again,
Gillian and Steve.  Glasgow.


4/08/09

    Many, many thanks for playing at our daughter’s wedding at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel on Friday August the 14th. You were absolutely SUPERB. The evening went with a swing from beginning to end and it was all thanks to your great music and encouragement to dance. We’ve spoken a lot to the guests and they all though you were brilliant too. You certainly gave us a night to remember. Hope we’re lucky enough to enjoy your music again…..meantime we’ll make do with listening to your CD.
Best wishes, Owen and Hazel Watt.
Aberdeenshire


Dear Charlie and Iron Broo,
     As always it was a pleasure working with you for our Graduation Ball this year. 
    I look forward to working with you in the future….. Too bad you are not available for my wedding in Toronto.
Shannon, Nick & Duncan.
Aberdeen University Students Association.
Aberdeen
July 2009


4/07/09

    Charlie, 
        We just wanted to say thank you again for such a lovely evening on Saturday! Paul and I had such a wonderful time. We’ve had so many compliments on your band, especially the strip the willow near the end which was a huge hit. Everyone, my out-of-country guests and also many of the Scottish, also expressed how great it was that you all were so patient explaining the dances. I know it might have looked like a train wreck from the outside, but we were all having a good laugh:) And I really appreciated you making sure that the floor was full of dancers, even when people were struggling to ceilidh dance from the heat in the early part of the ceilidh. 
Thank you again for helping to make the day special, and we look forward to seeing you in Aberdeen again in the future! 
All the best, 
Alicia and Paul


24/05/09

    Dear Charlie,
        We are writing to all those who made Sarah and Jared’s Wedding Ceilidh at Brodie Castle the success that it was. This is in no small way as a result of the Ceilidh music in the evening about which all of our guests commented most  favorably. Many of the guests had come from abroad and so the patience in which the dance steps were explained was very much appreciated! It was impossible to stay seated while you were playing.
    We wish you continued success in your musical careers and thank you again for coming all the way to Brodie and giving us all so much pleasure.
Best wishes,

Andrew and Jean Wright
Forres


04/02/09

Hi Charlie,  (from Riga, Latvia)

We have been getting tremendous feedback about the event and about Iron Broo! Even the former President today requested a CD with all the pictures
– as she was dancing quite a bit! 
We really really enjoyed having you! 
Some of the photos can be viewed here: http://www.bccl.lv/events/photos/132
but I can also post you an entire disk. Also, there was a request from the
sound engineer Ivo – if he could ask for an autographed CD. Do you think
you could put one in the post?

Cheers,

Ieva Gruzina
Executive Director
British Chamber of Commerce in Latvia
Riga, Latvia.  January 2009.


24/01/09

    Hi Charlie
        Just wanted to thank you so very much for making our Burns Supper this
Year a great success and sorting us out with the PA System.
I also wondered if we could book the Band in advance for our Burns Supper
next year? 
Hope your tour to Europe was a great success.
Look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
Linda
Aberdeen.


9/01/09
Just a quick e-mail to thank you all for making our wedding dance so enjoyable. Everyone commented on how good you were and we both had a great evening. Many thanks and best wishes for 2009!
David & Frances
Elgin

2008 Ceilidh Reviews Archive

5/09/08

        Dear Iron Broo,
     Sorry it has taken me so long to write but i was waiting for posh thankyou cards and I have now given up and made my own!!
Thank you so much for making our night so enjoyable. Craig and I had a brilliant day and you all played a large part in that so we really thank you. So many people commented on you guys and said how great you were but of course we new that already!
The photos that we have show so many smiley faces during the dancing and that was really important to us.
    So thanks again to you all for really helping our day to be brilliant!
See you at T in the Park!
Craig and Susan.
Cove, Aberdeen.


9/08/08
Dear Charlie & the band,
Thank you all so much for the fantastic Ceilidh that we had at our Wedding Reception on the 19th July at the Dunkeld Hilton. We both had so much fun & lots of our guests have been letting us know just how good you guys were.
Everyone had so much fun & the dance floor was never empty. We both cant wait to see the video of the dancing, it will be very entertaining (lots of slips & trips I think). Its hard to put into words how good you guys did but we will definitely be recommending you to all of our family & friends. Thank you also for your choice in our fist dance, the waltz that you selected & played was just perfect.
Thanks for the great party & for making our wedding so special & fun.
Chris & Eilidh


1/08/08
    Charlie,
     I just wanted to write a quick note to say a huge thank you to you and the whole band for such a superb evening at our wedding at the Dunkeld Hilton on July 11th. We’ve had so many of the guests saying how great the band were and I even think one of them is trying to book you guys for their wedding!
    With a room half full of Englishman and a load more reluctant dancers the music and the caller got everyone up and I can honestly say it was the best Ceilidh I’ve been to – not just because it was our wedding either! We had so much fun.
    Please thank the rest of the band for us. We’d recommend you without hesitation.
    Thanks again
        Jon and Leigh Pleasance


18/7/08

This is just a quick note to say how much I enjoyed the performance put on by Iron Broo at my brother’s wedding last weekend (5th July 2008). It was a great Ceilidh and the variety of dances was fantastic. You did a superb job of getting everyone onto the dance floor and showing those of us who were a little rusty exactly what to do. I’d thoroughly recommend Iron Broo to anyone organising a Ceilidh. 
Thanks for capping off a great day, 
Steve Mackay.


14/07/08

An enormous thank you to everyone in Iron Broo for creating such a wonderful atmosphere at Leigh and Jons’ wedding last Friday in Dunkeld. You made the whole evening so memorable for everyone there. We had many English guests at the wedding and it was great to see them joining in with the dancing and loving every minute of it. The ‘calling’ was just perfect. What a talented bunch of musicians you are. I hope T in the Park went well!
Best wishes,
Anne and Drew Young.
Banchory.
Kincardineshire.


7/7/08

Hi there,

I’d just like to say that I really enjoyed your ceilidh on Monday night at the Norwood Hall for my sister’s wedding! The music was brilliant and you guys created a lovely atmosphere. I especially liked the Wild Mountain Thyme song. I’ve already uploaded your CD onto my ipod and will be listening to it a lot, I’m sure.
You were superb and I’d highly recommend you. Thanks again for a wonderful evening.
Rachel, 
Aberdeen


21/06/08

Just wanted to say a big thank you to Charlie and the boys for providing great music during our wedding ceilidh at Mar lodge. Everyone had a really fantastic time and you helped make our day so wonderfully special.
Many thanks again,
Ian Dallard.


Dear Charlie (and  the rest of the band)

Just wanted to  say a big thank you for Sunday evening. Iron Broo are just fantastic. We all  had a really great time dancing to your music. Several people said to me on  the evening that you were the best ceilidh band they had seen and I must say  I agree with that.

We loved the  International Strip the Willow, especially the didgeridoo! That dance  rounded off the ceilidh dancing on a real high.

If anyone asks  me to recommend a band for a wedding in future, you can be sure I’ll tell  them they must book Iron Broo!!

Sheila
Edinburgh.


19/01/08
60th Birthday Ceilidh,
Carnoustie, 
January, 2008.   Band – ‘Iron Broo’ 

Everyone had a great night. Great band – superb musicians – you should be proud of yourselves. 
Strip The Willow (Iron Broo style) was brilliant- wish I had more energy to finish it!   
The calling of the dance steps was easy to follow (even for us auld yins) and much appreciated. 
CD is excellent too. 
Thanks so much – will recommend you forever…! 
Carol Ford 
(Carnoustie)

2007 Ceilidh reviews archive

16/12/07

    Charlie,
        Just wanted to send a wee card to say a heartfelt thank you for playing at our wedding. Steve and I appreciated the energy from all the musicians who played with you and for truly making our evening reception a memory we will cherish forever. Everybody is raving about Iron Broo and you have become a talking point of the wedding…even planning when we can next see you play and dance the night away! Aye all 75 of us…so keep us posted!! Hope you had a fun filled Christmas and we look forward to seeing you in 2008!
Lots of Love,
Jillian and Steve.
Aberdeen.
( Norwood Hall )


11/11/07  
Dear Charlie and the Iron Broo Crew.
We would like to thank you so so much for the most fantastic entertainment at our wedding on the 16th July at Guthrie Castle.  You created the perfect atmosphere to accommodate young to old and kept the dance floor full all night.  Everyone we speak to has complimented your band! We know that our guests from far afield greatly appreciated your fun and clear calling of the  dances.  

The multinational orcadian strip the willow was really unique and a great hit.

Having deliberated before the wedding as to whether or not to have a band that did a mixture of ceilidh and popular music we know that we made the correct decision by choosing your band.
 We would not hesitate to recommend you.  
Best wishes, 
Caroline and Michael Nelson


3/11/07

Hi Charlie

Thanks very much to both you and your band on Saturday.
Personally I thought that you were all very very good and we have had lots of comments from guests saying that you were one of the best ceilidh bands they have seen.  So thanks again to all of you for making our night really good.
Cheers
Matthew and Jiana
Aberdeen.


30/07/07
Hi Charlie
  Sorry I’ve not been in touch sooner, ive just got back from the honeymoon.
I just wanted to say thank you so much for playing at our wedding. I wanted to say thanks on the night but it was all so hectic! We had an incredible night. I’ve been to a lot of ceilidhs and I can honestly say that Iron Broo are the best band I’ve heard. Strip the willow was particularly impressive! I even learnt some new dances and i thought I knew all of them! Everyone I’ve spoken to about the evening has been complementing the band as asking who you were, so thank you very much!
    All the best
  Suzanne, 
Aberdeenshire.


19/07/07
Hello,
I would like to thank you and your musician for the wonderfull ceilidh we had last thursday at Pittodrie house. All the guest enjoyed both the music and the dancing.
 I do apologise for not thanking you in the evening after you were finished.
  Regards,
 Loic
Aberdeen


9/07/07
Dear Iron Broo,
Thank you for the magical music and calling at our wedding last night on Loch Lomond. The rave reviews saying you were the best band at T in the park this year set the bar pretty high but you guys were truly awesome. Our mix of experienced hands and ceilidh virgins meant there could have been some dance floor disasters but you fired up the party and kept it burning and burning and burning all night long. 
Mr and Mrs Hendry,

Wimbledon,
England.


8/6/07
    Dear Charlie,
         and other members, Just a quick note to say thanks for a great night, it was a worthy goodbye to Scotland for us. Even the rather prim got off their backsides, quite an accomplishment on your part! Thanks again, drop us an e-mail when your cd is ready, we’ll get the French dancing! (or even the Swiss..) 
All the best,
 Marja

Aberdeenshire


2/6/07
Just to say, what a fantastic night we had dancing Ceilidh to Iron Broo at Victoria’s Wedding. The music and the calling were second to none! You are without a doubt one of the finest Ceilidh bands in Scotland.  Thanks once again and look forward to seeing you again when you’re next at the Aberdeen Music Hall.  If you ever want an endorsement don’t hesitate to contact us.
 Kind Regards,

Len and Carol.Aberdeen


18/04/07
    Charlie, 
        Thanks very much from all at the Lower Speyside club for the excellent night of entertainment at our annual dinner dance in Elgin in march. I’ve had loads of good feedback from guests of all ages, which can only be a compliment to Iron Broo…….lets face it, i was sober and even i danced….that’s the ultimate compliment!! 
Thanks again.

Iain Brown, Fochabers.


6/2/07
To Charlie and the rest of Iron Broo,
Thank you all so much for the wonderful evening we had at our wedding reception at the Hilton Treetops 2nd November 2006 – the one with the Chocolate Fountain, which you seemed to enjoy as we have about 10 photo’s of you at it!
We had a brilliant time and all our guests – especially the Irish ones, have had nothing but praise for you all. We remember the never-ending Orcadian Strip the Willow well, not the best dance to do when your in a wedding dress but extremely enjoyable none the less!
You certainly put us through our paces, although we do feel like we only had
2 dances before the night was over – our guests assure us there was more and that we missed the best bits.
We were please that we had the opportunity to dance with you again at Pamela and Barry’s wedding a couple of weeks later at Pittodrie House Hotel, we loved the one where we had to act like helicopters!
We are working on our best man who just got engaged to make sure they book you guys for their wedding in 2008.
All the best to you all and thanks again for being so brilliant.
Duncan & Naomi MacIver

Aberdeen.

2006 Ceilidh Reviews archives

9/9/06

Charlie,
    A big thank you to you and the other members of Iron Broo for the excellent ceilidh at my daughter’s wedding on Saturday at the Norton House. As you will have seen from the full dance floor, the ceilidh went down a real treat, and added to the enjoyment of a great day. I thought the music was fantastic – I particularly liked the Orcadian Strip the Willow done to the variations of music from across the world. The expert tuition also helped get all nationalities on to the floor.

Please pass on my thanks to all of the band – you were great!

With kind regards,

Douglas

Edinburgh


29/7/06

You just don’t know how good a ceilidh band can be until you’ve heard Iron Broo.
There were lots of people from England and other countries at my son’s wedding (29 July 06), but with the band’s playing and Gus’s calling, the dance floor was always full, and we all learned new dances as well as old favourites. What’s more, although the music had to be loud, we could still talk easily to each other. The final Orcadian Strip the Willow was like nothing we had ever heard – or danced! – before. The band played and sang and took us through so many countries and wildly varying musical styles. Just when we thought it was all over, something else would start, with a completely new feel and beat. It was like having a whole evening of dances crammed into one. Amazing! People put up with mediocre bands, maybe because they don’t know any better. The trouble with Iron Broo is that once you’ve heard them, you’ll never be satisfied with anything less. Thanks from us all. 

Esther and Archie (extract from the iron broo Guest Book 29/7/06)

Edinburgh / Glasgow


28/8/06

Dear Charlie and Gang,

Ross and i would like to thank you for the wonderful music you played at our wedding at the New Inn in Ellon. Everyone at the dance thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I don’t think the dance floor was ever empty. You did a fantastic job of keeping the crowd going. You also made little Murray’s day by letting him sing “Ammarillo”. Thank you again for making our wedding dance such a wonderful and special night!

Ross and Gayle Hewitt.

Aberdeenshire.


25/7/06

Dear Iron Broo,
We would like to thank you all for playing at our wedding on the 1st July 2006 at The New Inn, Ellon. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the night and many have commented to us since on how brilliant you were. We hope to see you back at the Hopeville in Inverurie some day so that we can enjoy your music once more! 
Best Regards Steven and Jillian Eunson
Aberdeenshire.


19/7/06
Dear Iron Broo,
On behalf of the FSBI I would like to thank all the band for the fantastic ceilidh they provided for us at the Marcliffe at Pitfodels last Thursday night. 
We were a bit worried our international delegates would be reticent to hit the dance floor, but from the very first dance the floor was filled to capacity! The calling was brilliant, and the greek/italian slant on the final Orcadian strip the willow was totally inspiring – fantastic! We wouldn’t hesitate recommending you all for any event – corporate or otherwise! 
Thanks again for an excellent night.
Iain Gibb.
Aberdeen.


15/6/06
Dear Iron Broo,
I am writing to thank you very much for the excellent entertainment you provided for our conference dinner last Thursday evening at the Beach Ballroom. The band was fantastic and clearly inspired our guests to spend most of the evening dancing! It was lovely to see so many of our guests joining in and you are to be congratulated on your ability to encourage people onto the dance floor. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending Iron Broo as a first-class band. Our thanks once again for a fantastic evening. 
Kind regards Cathryn
Aberdeen.


2/5/06
Charlie (& Iron Broo),
We can’t thank you enough for the exclellent performance from you all on Sunday night. Nothing but compliments, including the fact that people could hear themselves talk!
Thanks to all of you! 
Bill & Yvonne Steven.
Elgin.


7/3/06
Dear Iron Broo,
Thank you for coming to the University Of Alicante to play your ceilidh music. I´m from Petrer, but last year I went to Aberdeen to finish my degree. Your music has reminded me of Aberdeen, since I went to many ceilidh parties.
Esther
Alicante, Spain.


24/2/06
Fantastic!! Great!! You are real crowd pleasers. Thanks for making our ceilidh for Aberdeen College foreign exchange students such a success. We will definately be recommending you to everyone (and we will definately be booking you again)
Anna
Aberdeen.

2005 Ceilidh Reviews Archive

15/8/05

Dear Iron Broo,
Robbie and I would like to thank you very much for playing at our wedding reception on 11th june. Despite things getting off to a late start (sorry for that!) everyone had an absolutely fantastic evening. Your musical skill and enthusiasm was evident and we certainly would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone in the future.
 Love and best wishes,

Natasha and Robbie. x Aberdeen.


20/6/05
Iron Broo were absolutely fantastic and everyone really enjoyed the music and all the different dances. They helped make the day very special and we would like to thank everyone who was involved. 

Sarah and Gordon.

Aberdeenshire.


15/6/05

Iron Broo. 
Thank you very much for providing the music and entertainment for our wedding at Carbisdale castle on 28th May. You were all fantastic! The music and dancing really made the wedding for all our guests. Many of them had never done an Orkadian Strip the Willow or many of the other dances. Children and adults alike  had a fabulous evening and I am sure their presence on the dance floor till the very end was a testament to that. The Jam session afterwards was also superb. The Pogues was the perfect end to the perfect day for us. Hope you all enjoyed it as much as us. What a night!
Euan and Sue.

Aberdeenshire.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close